For those of you who don't know I play in a weekly volleyball league. I had been out of the league for almost a year now while I was pregnant but now I am back at it. So last Thursday I was hurrying up to be able to get to Walgreens prior to having to hit the court. I dashed out the door, started the car and began to pull out the driveway. Upon checking over my shoulder to the right to see if anyone was coming I see this little beagle making it's way down the sidewalk towards my car. When the dog saw my car it looked a little lost doing a sidestep and started to turn around. I surveyed the area and found nobody even in the vicinity of this dog, no one even out in their yard! So there I was sitting in my car with a full agenda debating on whether I should be the bigger person and involve myself with this pooch or not.
With visions of this dog's carcus on the street when I returned home I threw the car into park and got out. I squated down to the dog's level with my hands out calling him to me. He came timidly trotting towards me. Upon his arrival I let him smell me, pet his head, and then held his collar to try to read his name tag. This is when things went down hill. The dog obviously did not want me to grab his collar because he started to pull. I held my ground trying to get his address and his name. Upon reading his address I realized this dog was two streets away from home! I opened my the back door of my car and was now basically dragging the dog... I forgot to mention I don't pick up other people's dogs, especially small ones since I feel they sometimes have the tendancy to bite. The more I drug the dog the more it started to give off this low throaty hack. While hacking it climbed into the backseat on the floor mat and continued to convulse. This is when for a split second I hoped no one thought I was dognapping this cainine since it was pretty apparent the dog was having a breakdown. I hurried to my door and off we went to find Daisy's (yes, that was dog's name) home. With every second that passed the dog's hacking got worse and worse. At first I was encouraging the dog not to yack in my car... but then with every house we passed I changed my tune and requested that Daisy not keel in my backseat... I mean how would that look? I went from trying to return a perfectly fine dog back to it's house to having a dead dog in my backseat?
Upon arrival at Daisy's house I got out of the car and saw this gentleman in the big picture window stand up. I yelled to him... I'VE GOT YOUR DOG. He then made his way to the door and this is how the conversation went... keep in mind the whole time this damn dog is still acting like it is going to hack up a lung in my backseat.
GUY: OH HI I THOUGHT YOU WERE MY NEICE FROM MINNEAPOLIS.
ME: NO, ACTUALLY I HAVE YOUR DOG.
GUY: MY DOG???
ME: YEAH YOUR DOG. YOU DO OWN A DOG NAMED DAISY RIGHT?
GUY: YEAH. WHY DO YOU HAVE MY DOG?
ME: I DON'T KNOW SHE WAS IN MY DRIVEWAY?
GUY: IN YOUR DRIVEWAY?
ME: YEAH, SO I'M BRINGING HER BACK.
GUY: I DIDN'T EVEN KNOW SHE WAS GONE. THE YARD GUY MUST HAVE LEFT THE GATE OPEN. THANK YOU SO MUCH!
ME: WELL SHE IS KIND OF HACKING IN MY BACKSEAT SO I WAS AFRAID TO GET HER OUT.
GUY: DAISY, GET OUT HERE! YOU STOP THAT RIGHT NOW!
Low and behold the dog jumps out of the backseat of the car and stops hacking. Unbelievable. I was late for volleyball.
1 comment:
Your story is hilarious. Reminds me of something I'd read in a David Sedaris book - something that would totally crack me up.
Post a Comment